Micah 6:8–Angie’s Take

Micah 6:8I love Micah 6:8. A framed art piece of this verse sits in our office, a gift from my sister to my husband. It’s a great Scripture, but it’s a challenging one.

When I think of parenting in regard to this verse, I definitely think of the third piece—walk humbly with God. If there is any part of my life that regularly (daily) humbles me, then it’s parenting. It’s a daily reminder that no matter how hard I work or how smart I am, I am imperfect, sometimes incapable, and sometimes ignorant. I HATE being incapable and ignorant. I PRIDE myself on being capable, competent, and intelligent. (I think the Bible, Shakespeare, and a host of others have something to say about pride…)

But parenting reminds me that I cannot do it all. I cannot be the high-functioning (over-functioning) employee I want to be AND do all the art, gardening, and baking projects I want to do with my kids AND lavish creative gifts on my son’s teachers AND do play dates AND be a hot 31-year-old mom AND cook delicious, creative meals AND be an encouraging, intentional wife AND well …forget cleaning my house.

And I definitely don’t know it all. I can tell you a good bit about a lot of things—Romantic British poetry, Victorian British novels, Antebellum American history, pastoral care, teaching teenagers, teenage development and psychology, the book of Philippians, etc. Notice parenting is not on that list, especially parenting toddlers and preschoolers. Give me a teenager, and I have a clue. Maybe I could just switch kids with all those parents who love little ones and are terrified of teenagers.
I need a dose of humility every now and then. Before I had kids, I sometimes heard that I seemed untouchable, that it was hard for people to relate to me. Parenting shows me and everyone within eye or ear shot that I’m sooooo far from perfect. I think I’m more real to people now, and that’s good.

There’s so much more I could say about this verse and parenting. Think how many times in each day we parents try to do justly, or what’s fair: It’s your turn to pick the DVD. It’s not your turn to push the elevator button. Can you ask nicely if she’ll share that “’ceratops” with you? Can he play with it for two minutes? Ugh! The pursuit of doing what is just and fair is unending. When they get older it will be issues of who gets to drive the car, who has to pay for gas, when he can start dating, when she can start dating (Lord, help us! I’ve got payback headed my way!).

I may be incompetent, incapable, and ignorant. But I hope that I’m showing my kids what justice looks like in the way I treat them and make them treat each other. I hope they see a mom who is humble enough to admit when she’s wrong, or doesn’t know, or can’t do it all.

Leave a Reply

